They could never prepare you…

Honestly, no one can EVER prepare you for being a parent. People can tell you everything they “know” about being a parent, but it will not really mean anything to you till you live it.

This applies to both the good and the bad. However, I think that you will come closer to understanding the bad without living it than you would the good.

The good is what I want to take a moment and talk about.

Seriously, being a parent is the single greatest thing about being alive. Obviously this is my very biased opinion, but it is the truth as I know it!

If someone tried to explain the joys of being a parent to me years ago I know I could never have fully understood what they were talking about.

Every time I think I have experienced the greatest joy of parenting Jonah comes along and completely destroys it. The awesome thing about it is that you find joy in the oddest things. Things you would never think would be a source of indescribable joy just blow you away.

The other day Jonah and I were in the living room and he was kind of playing by himself. I looked over to make sure he was alright and not getting into anything bad and I see him putting one of his wooden blocks under the ottoman. He then gets up, starts looking around, and then heads to grab the next block he sees. After he put that block under there I noticed there was already a couple other blocks under there. He continued to do this until all the blocks were under the ottoman.

This may not seem like such a big deal to most of you, but it is amazing to me. It is so awesome to see him figure stuff out and to be doing things with real intent.

Today he started to just pile all his blocks on my desk. So I started to line them up neatly. When he saw me doing that he started helping me put them in a neat line. That is just amazing to me to see that he can see what I am doing, understand the pattern of what I am doing, and be able to process the next steps!

Again, probably not a big deal to most of you, but it makes me want to cry (in a good way of course).

Sometimes Julie and I just have to sit back and watch with amazement as he does something new.

Like today when he pulled out all of the same style of car out of his bin of cars. He pulled out all four one by one and placed them all together. Then he put them under his table and crawled under there and just played with them being very nice and quiet.

I just love being a parent SO much.

Leave a Reply

