Sing us a song, you’re the piano man…

I’ve decided to learn how to play piano! I have wanted to play music since I developed my own musical taste and saw my first live show. I always tried to learn bass or guitar and it never really worked out for various reasons. I still really want to learn guitar, and I plan on still doing so, but right now it is just too hard to find time to practice. If Jonah is awake and hears the guitar he wants to be right there playing with it too. If he’s asleep… well I sure as hell am not going to risk waking him up!

So to go along with our new macs I decided to buy a MIDI keyboard so I could practice piano and not make a single sound! Our macs came with the Garage Band program and it apparently has some music lessons in it! You can also download other lessons for free and I think you can buy even more after that.

Here is my little “piano studio” setup:

I sat down tonight and started running through a couple of the lessons. I am taking my time on them and making sure I am pretty comfortable with them before moving on. After about 30 – 40 minutes on the first lesson I had learned a song already and was able to hit the notes with 100% accuracy. That’s not to say at all that it sounded good. I still have a lot of work to do, but I am excited! Here, you can have a listen for yourself what this lesson taught me in about 30-40 minutes with no previous piano experience… Ode to Joy (kind of, lol).

The Garage Band software is pretty neat, at least the parts I have used so far. Here are a few screen shots from the program:
Here is the lesson screen where you play along:

Here is the same screen mid song:

You can track your progress over time and see how you have improved (first shot) and you can also see your best “scores”. You can even go back and listen to your recordings and maybe see why you messed up and help you get better!

So I am pretty excited about all this and hope I don’t lose too much sleep practicing! Oh and I also hope I keep up with this. 😉

Leave a Reply

